Online Learning and Organization Development

by Jan Yuill

Apparently,Michigan ranks second only to Florida when it comes to vision, policies and programs to support online learning, according to a study published in October by the California-based Center for Digital Education.

Well done, Michigan! Well done, Florida!

I am noticing things like this more and more lately. Today, is the launch of the first Organizations Alive! Conference Call. It is a freebie to seven of my colleagues (in Florida, California, Ontario, Alberta, Japan, Mississippi, and Switzerland) because it is an experiment in using the methodology and technology.

As a methodology, I am constantly working with clients and colleagues in the teaching and application of the Organizations Alive! Model, but for the most part, it is something I have done face-to-face. Even though I prefer the personal contact, I have a passion to share the model world-wide, and well, there are just so many hours in a day. So, this evening we are going to ‘meet’ and see how it goes.

As far a technology, we are using a teleconference bridge through www.freeconferencepro.com, and a whiteboard through www.dimdim.com.

Through the Organizations Alive! lens …

I am always using the model in my own business development. Conducting this meeting is clearly in the Resource Management quadrant of the model. But it comes from the Strategic Vision of sharing the model world-wide.  I am tuning in to the Customer Service quadrant by offering the event, well, at no cost this time, in exchange for feedback and practice with the media. It’s a win-win. For me (Membership Potential quadrant), I learn what works, how to use the technology, strengthen relationships, practice my craft, etc. etc. Online learning and doing … here I come!

