Gotta love Resource Management!

by Jan Yuill

I have not always been able to say this with any conviction. In fact, it is this quadrant of the Organizations Alive!™ Model that can really mess me up! But lately I have new respect for inputs, throughputs, and outputs – and for many different reasons.

For one thing, every business depends on it! You can have great intentions, great people, and great customers but if you are not able to deliver … well, you won’t be in business for long!

Another reason, is that I have discovered that products are just as much fun as services! For many years my practice was mostly service – consulting, coaching, facilitation, training – built on repeat work and referrals. I had no business plan. I relied on the quality of the service to speak for me.

But as I have grown the Organizations Alive!™ work (and business plan!), the focus has shifted to include products. People want tools that they can work with, take home, and refer back to again later. That was my reason for writing the book in the first place – i.e. to share the model with others in a nice, neat package that could travel where ever they happened to go. But it has grown to include Training Materials, Facilitator Manuals, Presentation Tools, Marketing Resources, the new Reference and Inquiry Guide, … and lots more.

And what a learning curve it has been! Design. Graphics. Layout. Printing. Packaging. Shipping. Pricing. Marketing. Inventory. On and on. It is so strange for me to ‘talk’ wholesale and retail, discounts, package deals, etc. but here I am … in Resource Management!

What about you? What’s in your Resource Management quadrant? What are your inputs, throughputs, and outputs? What should they be?

The new Reference and Inquiry Guide is designed to help you explore these questions in an honest, systematic, and probing manner. Check it out!

“I keep the Reference and Inquiry Guide in my briefcase
for when I meet with clients.
Sometimes I pull it out to help guide our conversation.
It helps us ‘see’ things from a neutral perspective.
Sometimes I use it post-conversation just to see what I notice
and to give me ideas on a new set of questions to open our next dialogue with.”
