Book: The E-Myth Revisited (5th Post)

by Jan Yuill

(I am now at Page 90 of The E-Myth Revisited.)

In Chapter 7, Gerber describes the difference between a trade name franchise and a turn-key franchise. The success of the first is in the product that it sells. The success of the second is in the business itself – i.e. how it sells the product.

He then goes on to talk about McDonald’s as a hugely successful business.

My heart sank when I read this chapter. Was this book about franchising? This is not the direction I am going in!

But he had an interesting point to make. We may not like to eat at McDonald’s, but McDonald’s is consistent in what it delivers to the customer. When you stop for a burger at McDonald’s, the experience is the same, whether you are in Prince Edward Island, Canada or Oregon, USA. You can count on it.

OK. That’s a good thought. But what can it possibly have to do with my business? I don’t do hamburgers! Franchising won’t work for Organizations Alive! And besides, it is too big a learning curve for me right now. I don’t have the time, energy, or resources to do this!

But I think I’ll keep reading.

>>Go to the 6th posting.
>>Buy the book: The E-Myth Revisited

