Book: The E-Myth Revisited (1st Post)

by Jan Yuill

There are winds of change all around me lately. I can feel them. They carry a sweet scent, but I don’t know where they are coming from, or where they are going. They are not easy to grasp. Yet.

Two colleagues recently recommended the book – The E-Myth Revisited – to me, but in separate circumstances. One was Heather Cameron, who is well on her way in executive coaching; the other is Don Officer, who is moving into new circles himself. When recommendations come in this way, I think it is important to pay attention.

So I bought the book yesterday.

I am on Page 67, and now know why Heather and Don suggested I read it. I’d like to share what I am reading as a way of chewing, digesting, and growing from its message. Please feel free to add your thoughts!

The E-Myth is the Entrepreneurial Myth. Michael Gerber, the author, describes three personalities at work in any business – The Entrepreneur, The Manager, and The Technician. These three personalities are distinct parts of each person who creates and runs a business.

Interestingly though, it is not typically The Entrepreneur in us who starts the business. It is The Technician – i.e. the one who loves to do something in particular, and no longer wants to do it for a boss or a salary. We want to do, what we love to do, the way we want to do it. So we decide to start a business. But The Technician knows nothing about starting and running a business. It is a whole different skill set.

I have been very aware of these different aspects in myself as I have been growing the Organizations Alive! work. Gerber is helping me to see them more clearly.

Jan-The-Technician, has always worked with people and organizations. I love the theory and practice of organization development, change management, learning and training, group facilitation, coaching, etc. I am passionate about sharing the Organizations Alive! Model with others.

Jan-The-Entrepreneur, loves ideas, vision, goals, plans, and abundance.

Jan-The-Business-Manager, is a work in progress. Most of my learning curve in the past few years has been about this role. The subjects of marketing, web design, product development, accounting, etc. have been captivating, hugely challenging, and all-consuming.

So, Jan-The-Man(ager), has been in control and in the lead lately (even though it is not an area of strength). And I have been ‘doing, doing, doing’ a lot.

I have a feeling Gerber has more to say about this.

>>Go to the 2nd posting.
>>
Buy the book: The E-Myth Revisited

