Life is but a Dream

by Jan Yuill

I had a coffee with Kathee the other day. Our conversation turned to perseverance, … a theme, it seemed, for me this week. I was reminded of a favourite nursery rhyme – Row. Row. Row Your Boat. I reclaimed it a few years ago, when I was teaching the Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, and often found myself speaking about life purpose and meaning.

The rhyme goes like this …

Row. Row. Row your boat
……….(Work, and keep on working with what you have.)
Gently down the stream.
……….(But go gently with the flow of things,
……………rather than constantly fighting against them.)
Merrily. Merrily. Merrily. Merrily.
……….(Be happy. Be cheerful. Find joy in what you do. Do what you love.)
……….(Notice that there are four ‘merrily’s‘ and three ‘row’s.’
……………Perhaps we should rest and be grateful, more than we strive?)
Life is but a dream.
……….(It is but a breath. Gone in a minute …
……….so kknow why you are here, and do what is important.)

