The Truth about Change

by Jan Yuill

I bumped heads with my daughter today.

It was no big deal really. We were in church and she had whispered something to me. I hadn’t heard her, so I moved my head towards hers, and at the same time, she leaned toward me to repeat what she had said. Bonk.

This may not seem very significant, but she is 10 years old. We have never bumped heads while sitting next to each other. Up until now, she has always fit nicely beneath my chin.

I also noticed, the other day, that as we walked arm-in-arm and stride-for-stride along the street, she felt more like a friend than my little girl.

Change.

..It happens,

….all the time,

……to everyone,

……..whether we are aware of it or not, and

………..whether we like it or not.

And then all of a sudden it bumps you on the head, and you ask yourself, “When did that happen? Where was I when she became 5 feet tall?”

…………Some changes we control

…………..(like what to write in a blog posting).

…………….Some changes we can only influence

………………(like putting in a good word for someone).

………………..While others are completely outside of our control

………………….(like how tall your child will grow).

……………………The changes that happen to others,

……………………..happen to us too.

And that’s the truth about change – for people and organizations. That’s life.

